Public Document Pack

Southend-on-Sea Borough Council

Civic Centre Southend-on-Sea

23 May 2019

Dear Sir or Madam,



Councillors Ron Woodley, Ian Shead, Martin Terry, Steve Wakefield and Trevor Harp have submitted a requisition to the Mayor asking him to call an Extraordinary Meeting of the Southend-on-Sea Borough Council, pursuant to Section 3 of Schedule 12 to the Local Government Act 1972, to consider and determine the matters set out in items 3-5 of the Agenda set out below.

Notice is hereby given that the Mayor has agreed to call an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council. You are hereby summoned to attend this Extraordinary Meeting to be held in the Council Chamber, Civic Centre, Southend-on-Sea on **Monday, 3rd June 2019 at 6.30pm,** for the purpose of transacting the business set out below.

A. Griffin
Chief Executive

AGENDA

- 1 Apologies for Absence
- 2 Declarations of Interest
- 3 Removal of the Leader of the Council
- 4 Appointment of new Leader of the Council
- Reallocation of appointments dealt with at the Council meeting on 16th May 2019
 Report of the Strategic Director (Legal and Democratic Services)

and revised Lists A, B, C, D and E (to follow)

SCRUTINY AND REGULATORY COMMITTEES AND LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE C PLUS COUNCIL COMMITTEES (AUDIT AND STANDARDS)

POLICY & RESOURCES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Cabinet Members)

5

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	David Burzotta Tony Cox Meg Davidson David Garston (Chair) Steve Habermel David McGlone (Vice Chair) Dan Nelson	7	All
LAB	Daniel Cowan Matt Dent Stephen George Helen McDonald	(5*)	All
IND	Brian Ayling Ian Shead Mike Stafford Steve Wakefield	4	All
LD	Paul Collins Peter Wexham	(1*)	All

^{*} The Labour Group has agreed to exchange one of its seats on Policy and Resources Scrutiny Committee for one of the Liberal Democrats seats on People Scrutiny Committee

PEOPLE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Cabinet Members)

(NB: Council appointed representative on Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust (EPUT) must NOT be appointed as a Member or Substitute to this Committee)

Party	Members	Total 17+7	Substitutes
CON	Helen Boyd Alan Dear Fay Evans Nigel Folkard (Vice Chair) Denis Garne Lesley Salter (Chair)	6	
LAB	Margaret Borton Matt Dent Maggie Kelly Cheryl Nevin Kay Mitchell Charles Willis	(5*) 6	All (Except Councillor Burton who is the Council rep on EPUT)
IND	Anne Chalk Ian Shead Mike Stafford	3	All
LD	Beth Hooper Ashley Thompson	(3*)	All
	Co-opted Members: Church of England Diocese – Fr Jonathan Collis (Voting on Education matters only)	7	

Roman Catholic Diocese – VACANT (Voting on Education matters only)		
Parent Governors – (i) VACANT (Voting on Education matters only)		
(ii) VACANT (Voting on Education matters only)		
SAVS – K Jackson (Non-Voting)		
Healthwatch Southend – Jean Broadbent (Non-Voting)		
Southend Carers – Tim Watts (Non-Voting)		
Observers: Youth Council (i) TBA (Non-voting) (ii) TBA (Non-Voting) (Substitute: VACANT)	2	

^{*} The Labour Group has agreed to exchange one of its seats on Policy and Resources Scrutiny Committee for one of the Liberal Democrats seats on People Scrutiny Committee

PLACE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Cabinet Members)

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	Alex Bright Kevin Buck Tony Cox Mark Flewitt (Vice Chair) Derek Jarvis Andrew Moring (Chair) Chris Walker	7	All
LAB	Jennifer Beck Laurie Burton Daniel Cowan Matt Dent Stephen George	5	All
IND	Brian Ayling Anne Chalk Steve Wakefield Nick Ward	4	All
LD	Peter Wexham	1	All

APPEALS COMMITTEE (A)

(No Cabinet Members)

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	Denis Garne David Garston Chris Walker	3	All
LAB	Margaret Borton Daniel Cowan (Vice-Chair)	2	All
IND	Brian Ayling Mike Stafford (Chair)	(1*)	All

^{*}Cllr Aylen has given up his seat on this Committee to the Labour Group

APPEALS COMMITTEE (B)

(No Cabinet Members)

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	Fay Evans Nigel Folkard	2	All
LAB	Laurie Burton Cheryl Nevin (Chair)	2	All
IND	Mike Stafford Paul Van Looy (Vice-Chair)	2	All
LD	Carole Mulroney	1	All

THE APPOINTMENTS AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE

(*Note: When agenda includes appointment of, or disciplinary action against, the Head of Paid Service, Deputy Chief Executive, Strategic Director or Director, the relevant Cabinet Member(s) should be a member of the Committee.)

NOTE: The maximum number of Cabinet Members is 3

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	Tony Cox Meg Davidson Derek Jarvis	3	All
LAB	lan Gilbert (Chair) C Nevin	2	All
IND	Ron Woodley (Vice-Chair)	1	All
LD	Carole Mulroney	1	All

DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	Alan Dear Fay Evans David Garston Steve Habermel Derek Jarvis Chris Walker	6	All
LAB	Jennifer Beck Margaret Borton (Vice-Chair) Daniel Cowan Anne Jones Helen McDonald	5	All
IND	Brian Ayling Anne Chalk Paul Van Looy Nick Ward (Chair)	4	All
LD	Ashley Thompson Peter Wexham	2	All

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

CON			
CON	Fay Evans Mark Flewitt Nigel Folkard	3	All
LAB	Matt Dent (Chair) Maggie Kelly	2	All
IND	Anne Chalk Paul Van Looy Nick Ward (Vice Chair)	(2) 3*	All
LD	Ashley Thompson	1	All

^{*} Cllr Aylen has given up his seat on this Committee to the Independent Group

LICENSING COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 15	Substitutes
CON	Kevin Buck Alan Dear Nigel Folkard David Garston Steve Habermel David McGlone	6	All
LAB	Margaret Borton Daniel Cowan Matt Dent Helen McDonald (Chair) Kay Mitchell	(4) 5*	All
IND	Brian Ayling (Vice Chair) Ian Shead Nick Ward	3	All
LD	Ashley Thompson	1	All

^{*} Cllr Aylen has given up his seat on this Committee to the Labour Group

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES A AND B

To be drawn from the <u>Members of</u> Licensing Committee as required

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE C

Party	Members	Total 8	Substitutes
CON	Alan Dear Steve Habermel (Vice-Chair) David McGlone	8 3	All
LAB	Margaret Borton Helen McDonald (Chair)	2	All
IND	lan Shead Nick Ward	2	All
LD	Ashley Thompson	1	All

Note: Licensing Sub-Committee C to be proportional – but it is not reflected in the overall proportionality calculation for committees

COUNCIL COMMITTEES

AUDIT COMMITTEE (No Cabinet Members)

Party	Members	Total 9	Substitutes
CON	Tony Cox Meg Davidson Nigel Folkard Steve Habermel	4	All
LAB	Laurie Burton (Vice Chair) Maggie Kelly	2	All
IND	Brian Ayling Ian Shead	2	All
LD	Paul Collins (Chair)	1	All
	1 independent Co-opted member (Non-Voting): Mr Kash Pandya		

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 9+4	Substitutes
CON	David Burzotta Alan Dear Mark Flewitt Denis Garne	4	All
LAB	Daniel Cowan Cheryl Nevin	2	All
IND	Brian Ayling Ian Shead (Chair)	2	All
LD	Beth Hooper	1	All
	2 Leigh-on-Sea Town Council nominees (Non-Voting): Cllr Caroline Parker	2	
	2 Independent persons: J Tetley and J Morgan (Observers).	2	

NB: Standards Committees complies with the requirements of the LOCALISM ACT 2011.

HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

(The Chair shall be the Leader or such other Cabinet Member as he shall appoint)

(Note: The Membership should include the Cabinet Member with the responsibility for Health. Members of the People Scrutiny Committee / the Scrutiny Committee with the responsibility for Health Scrutiny should <u>not</u> be appointed to the Board)

Party	Members	Total 6	Substitutes
CON	Meg Davidson Chris Walker	2	All
LAB	Ian Gilbert Anne Jones	2	All
IND	Trevor Harp (Chair)	1	All
LD	Carole Mulroney	1	All

JOINT HEALTH OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(With Essex and Thurrock Councils - to review the Mid and South Essex Sustainability & Transformation Partnership).

Note: Councillors appointed should be Members of People Scrutiny Committee (the Scrutiny Committee with responsibility for health scrutiny). The Joint Committee is currently chaired by Southend).

Party	Members	Total 4	Substitutes
CON	Lesley Salter	1	All
LAB	Cheryl Nevin	1	All
IND	Anne Chalk	1	All
LD	Beth Hooper	1	All

